What laws apply to rental property?
Property managers must understand and comply with provisions of legislation, such as the
Americans with Disabilities Act and the Federal Fair Housing Amendment Act. We ensure
that our renting and advertising practices are not discriminatory and that the property
itself complies with all of the local, state, and federal regulations and building codes, as
well as the Texas Property Code.
We know your rights and obligations as a landlord, which could limit your liability
What does the Texas Property Code require?
The Texas Property Code is very specific about safety and security devices:
- exterior doors must have a keyless dead bolt
- exterior doors must have a peep hole
- sliding glass doors must have a pin lock plus either a doorlatch or security bar
- one exterior door must have a keyed doorknob or dead bolt
- each window must have a factory latch
- door locks must be re-keyed before each new tenant takes possession
- each bedroom must have a smoke detector outside door
What if a tenant needs evicting?
Even though a property manager will do everything possible to avoid problem tenants, if
an eviction is necessary, we will help you deal with the whole process, from providing the
required eviction notices, to filing court documents and working with the local constable.
Are your Property Managers licensed?
Yes, the state of Texas requires that property managers hold a real estate license.
What does it cost?
Texas Riviera Rentals charges a management fee of 10% of all money collected. In
addition a leasing fee of $300 will be deducted from the first months rent each time a
property is rented. Lastly, we will withhold $200 from the first month's rent for a repair
escrow. This last fee, will be held so that Texas Riviera Rentals can have minor repairs
completed as needed.